NEWS: Harry Seidler Award and the Walter Burley Griffin Award for fjmt

On the 2nd of November, the Australian Institute of Architects announced the Winners of the National Architecture Awards 2017. Two projects from Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp  have been awarded the AIA National Architecture Awards.

‘The jury gave preference to projects demonstrating the contribution architecture can make to the public good; projects that were inventive in their responses to context, site and program; and those that celebrated an understanding of materials and making,’ Maher said.

This year’s jury had the daunting task of awarding projects from the largest field of entries received in the almost four decades since the national awards program began, with a total of 983 entries received and 72 shortlisted for national honours.’

The EY Centre has been awarded the 2017 Harry Seidler Award for the most outstanding work of commercial architecture in Australia.

‘This exemplar for commercial highrise projects establishes an outstanding benchmark for its type through its particular identity and careful consideration of human scale and comfort while minimizing its environmental footprint.’

Frank Bartlett Library and Moe Service Centre has been awarded the 2017 The Walter Burley Griffin Award for Urban Design.

‘This strategic, subtle and very effective urban addition is a small library with a major urban impact. It rethinks Moe by providing a new physical and social heart. It gives a stressed region hope for the future.’

To learn more about the National Architecture Awards program, click here.

To see the list of Winners 2017 click here.

Moe Library fjmt architecture